Why Some Customers Have Never Seen These Photos Before
As a service to our customers who do not have picture-messaging (MMS) capable phones or service plans, T-Mobile has, in the past, automatically diverted pictures to their online "MyAlbum" folder. We do this to insure that customers do not miss pictures that are sent from their friends, family and loved ones. T-Mobile has also been delivering a free text message (SMS) to these customers notifying them that a photo has been delivered and directing them to the MyAlbum. It is important to note that T-Mobile does not censor content, unless the company is made aware of legal violations that warrant intervention.
T-Mobile is revisiting the way it handles picture messages that are sent to customers who do not have MMS capable devices or service plans, and is taking steps to prevent this from recurring by disabling MyAlbums for customers who do not have MMS capable devices or service plans.
For the time being, though, here is the warning Greg wishes he'd seen before logging into his account: "Be careful when logging into your T-Mobile account on the Web. Any photos sent to your number -- whether you know about them or not -- will show up here. You might also want to warn any teenagers with a line on account that the photos he is trading back and forth with friends will show up here." (That could prove to be a very effective deterrent to sexting.)
Got gripes? Send them to email@example.com.