ISO adopts OOXML format as international standard

ISO has yet to decide who will control future development and improvement of the OOXML standard

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) has adopted an international standard based on Microsoft's Office Open XML (OOXML) document format.

The standard was approved by 86 percent of all countries voting and by 75 percent of those countries participating in JTC1, the joint committee of the ISO and the International Electrotechnical Committee that organized the vote, according to a number of sources. To pass, it required the approval of 75 percent of all countries voting, and 66 percent of those countries participating in the committee, known as P-members.

Among the organizations relaying the information were Microsoft and industry standards consortium ECMA International. Microsoft first sent its OOXML document format to ECMA for approval, where it was adopted as standard ECMA-376 . ECMA then submitted its standard to the ISO where, after numerous modifications, it has been adopted as ISO standard 29500.

While the ISO has sent the ballot results to the national standards bodies, it does not plan to announce them publicly until Wednesday.

The results were first disclosed in a document sent to the OpenDoc Society mailing list in a posting by a Dutch technical standards committee member, Michiel Leenaars.

Of the 87 countries that voted, 61 approved, 10 disapproved and 16 abstained. Among the P-members, 24 approved, eight disapproved and nine abstained, according to the document.

The full results the document contained are as follows:

Country Status Vote

Argentina Abstention

Armenia Approval

Australia P-Member Abstention

Austria Approval

Azerbaijan P-Member Approval

Bangladesh Approval

Barbados Approval

Belarus Approval

Belgium P-Member Abstention

Bosnia and Herzegovina Approval

Brazil Disapproval

Bulgaria Approval

Canada P-Member Disapproval

Chile Abstention

China P-Member Disapproval

Colombia Approval

Congo, The Democratic Republic of Approval

Costa Rica Approval

Côte-d'Ivoire P-Member Approval

Croatia Approval

Cuba Disapproval

Cyprus P-Member Approval

Czech Republic P-Member Approval

Denmark P-Member Approval

Ecuador P-Member Disapproval

Egypt Approval

Fiji Approval

Finland P-Member Approval

France P-Member Abstention

Germany P-Member Approval

Ghana Approval

Greece Approval

India P-Member Disapproval

Iran, Islamic Republic of P-Member Disapproval

Ireland P-Member Approval

Israel Approval

Italy P-Member Abstention

Jamaica P-Member Approval

Japan P-Member Approval

Jordan Approval

Kazakhstan P-Member Approval

Kenya P-Member Abstention

Korea, Republic of P-Member Approval

Kuwait Approval

Lebanon P-Member Approval

Luxembourg Abstention

Malaysia P-Member Abstention

Malta P-Member Approval

Mauritius Approval

Mexico Approval

Morocco Approval

Netherlands P-Member Abstention

New Zealand P-Member Disapproval

Nigeria Approval

Norway P-Member Approval

Pakistan P-Member Approval

Panama Approval

Peru Approval

Philippines Approval

Poland Approval

Portugal Approval

Qatar Approval

Romania Approval

Russian Federation Abstention

Saudi Arabia P-Member Approval

Serbia Approval

Singapore P-Member Approval

Slovenia P-Member Approval

South Africa P-Member Disapproval

Spain P-Member Abstention

Sri Lanka Abstention

Switzerland P-Member Approval

Syrian Arab Republic Approval

Tanzania, United Rep. of Approval

Thailand Approval

Trinidad and Tobago P-Member Approval

Tunisia Approval

Turkey P-Member Abstention

Ukraine Approval

United Arab Emirates Approval

United Kingdom P-Member Approval

Uruguay P-Member Approval

USA P-Member Approval

Uzbekistan Approval

Venezuela P-Member Disapproval

Viet Nam Abstention

Zimbabwe Abstention

This story was updated on April 1, 2008